The board
Pursuant to the statutes, the board’s function is (i) to determine the strategy and major policy matters of the Association within its stated objectives (article 2 of the statutes) and (ii) to supervise the Chief Executive, the executive committee and the functions of ICMA generally. 

The board has established the following committees assisting it in performing its supervisory role:

  1. the audit, compliance and governance committee which oversees compliance by the Association with all laws, rules and regulations applicable to it in order to enable the board to conduct appropriate supervision of the Association's regulatory affairs and for overseeing, controlling and reporting on the budgetary process and financial control of ICMA;
  2. the oversight committee which supervises the executive committee and any committee established by the executive committee; and
  3. the compensation committee which reviews and recommends the compensation of the Association’s senior executives to the board.

Pursuant to the statutes
  • the board consists of 22 members, 21 of which are normally elected by the general meeting and one of which, the Chief Executive, is appointed by the board;
  • the term of office of the 21 elected board members is three years. At each ordinary general meeting one-third of the 21 elected board members (i.e. seven) must retire. Retiring board members may be re-elected for one additional consecutive term of office of three years;
  • when a board member leaves the board prior to the expiry of his/her term of office the nomination committee appoints a successor to the board who completes the predecessor’s term of office; and
  • the Chief Executive is an “ex-officio” board member during the tenure as Chief Executive.
The statutes stipulate that when considering the nomination of candidates for the board elections at the general meeting, the nomination committee’s selection of the candidates must reflect a balanced representation in the board of:
  • the geographic composition of the Association and the current importance in the international capital markets of particular regions or areas; and
  • the various functions in the markets.
A candidate for board membership is typically expected 
  • to be involved in the capital markets’ business;
  • to exercise a function at a senior level (managing director or equivalent) within his/her member firm;
  • to be able to commit resources of his/her member firm in capital markets for ICMA activities; and
  • to be able to participate in ICMA committees and working groups as chairman or otherwise and to represent ICMA at conferences and other public events from time to time.

The current board members are:

Mandy DeFilippo (Chair)
Morgan Stanley & Co. International PLC
term: until the AGM 2020
Click here to see the biography of Mandy DeFilippo

Jean-Marc Mercier
(Deputy chair)
HSBC Bank plc
term: until the AGM 2021

Marc Baigneres
J.P. Morgan Securities plc
term: until the AGM 2021

Juan Blasco
Banco Bilbao Vizcaya Argentaria, S.A.
term: until the AGM 2020

Jonathan Brown
Barclays Capital Securities Limited
term: until the AGM 2020

Suzanne Buchta
Bank of America Merrill Lynch
term: until the AGM 2019

Joanna Cound
BlackRock Investment Management (UK) Limited
term: until the AGM 2019

Jakob Groot
Danske Bank A/S
term: until the AGM 2021

Fabio Lisanti
Citigroup Global Markets Limited
term: until the AGM 2021

Bertrand de Mazières
European Investment Bank
term: until the AGM 2020

Chris Muyldermans
KBC Bank N.V.
term: until the AGM 2021

Armin Peter

term: until the AGM 2020

Martin Scheck
(ex-officio as ICMA’s Chief Executive)
term: n/a

Roman Schmidt

Commerzbank AG
Frankfurt am Main
term: until the AGM 2019

Camilla Tinari
Intesa Sanpaolo S.p.A.
term: until the AGM 2019

Andreas Utermann
Allianz Global Investors
term: until the AGM 2020


ICMA Executive Education